Welcome

Welcome to Kathy Schwerin’s website about Therapy, Meditation and Life.

In 1986 I had a conversation that changed my life.  I was in Asia and had become interested in Buddhism.  I met a man who had been on his second month-long meditation retreat, and he planned to do another though he told me he had not enjoyed the first two.  When I asked why, he said, “Because I want to be a wise old man, and I thought if I do what people I consider to be wise do, I might gain wisdom.”

Having struggled with depression most of my life, I was looking forward to sitting on a rocking chair, wiping my brow, and saying, “Whew, made it.”  I never considered what kind of old woman I would be.  That’s the day I began my meditation practice.

This site is an place to gather my stories, thoughts, photos, and lessons in twenty-five years of moving towards my wise old age.  Welcome to my journey.

Please visit the Blog Page for ongoing discussions.

About kathyschwerin

I am a psychotherapist in private practice in Carson City and Reno, Nevada.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Asia, Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.